Main Content:
Janet Freburger and Sara Piva

June 5, 2020

Janet Freburger, professor, and Sara Piva, associate professor, have been named Catherine Worthingham Fellows of the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA), the highest honor among APTA’s membership categories. To be eligible, individuals must have advanced the physical therapy profession through frequent and sustained efforts for a period of no less than 15 years. Also, candidates must have demonstrated excellence in one primary domain (advocacy, education, practice or research) and made significant contributions, achievements or leadership to at least two other domains.

Freburger and Piva become the 9th and 10th current and former Department of Physical Therapy faculty members to receive designation as a Catherine Worthingham Fellow, joining Drs. Anne Pascasio, the late Rosemary Scully, Dean Anthony Delitto, Jessie VanSwearingen, Susan Whitney, Kelley Fitzgerald, James Irrgang and Jennifer Brach.


Department of Physical Therapy


Doctor of Physical Therapy
Doctor of Physical Therapy/Doctor of Philosophy in Bioengineering
Post Professional Program in Physical Therapy
Undergraduate Program in Rehabilitation Science